Not Where I Make You Stay

This terror creeps inside of my being
that one day you’ll be
soaring above, over head

I might snatch you up and imprison
your glass, frail walls

Creating a concave fist
with my eager hands

Not wanting to set loose
what I’ve captured
For it rarely passes by

With these
clutched fingers
secured tightly

the sheer force would cause
a crack in the glass
spreading
until it shatters

Causing you
to cease to exist
let alone
ever flourish

There’s just no way
I could let that ever happen

That delicate bird I call love
must pass on by

I cannot strive towards it
It must land softly
on my shoulder, whistling into my ear

Of how this is their favourite
place to be

Because you’ve made a decision
you belong
not where I make you stay

Leave a Reply

