My Only Wager

I had wished to prove
and be there to remove
the curtains that would cloud
your mind when confidence could not be found
to light a flame in your darkest cave
help settle thoughts that would not behave

I had wished to share
a piece of sunshine to repair
blue eyes hidden by rain
a little something to subdue your pain
and I would place it in your pocket, in your hand
no heavier than a grain of sand
to believe in you when you’re in doubt
and be the clarity when words run out

I had to wished to amend
wounds pierced by arrows from the darkness that descend
from self loathing and defeat
make you realize you’re not hollow, you are nothing but complete

You would have been my only wager
Though I saw very few odds in your favour
I had wished to quell your afflicted mind
and make sure you know
you’re always in the back of mine

I was supposed to catch you off that cliff
To be the first one to forgive

2 Responses to “My Only Wager”

  1. First off I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question which I’d
    like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to know how
    you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.

    I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply
    just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints?
    Cheers!

    • Thank you!
      Honestly, I only write when there’s inspiration, and that in itself clears my mind. For me, I need to be focused on the subject and all that encompasses it. To get lost in the FEELING of the piece, to lose yourself in it. Sometimes the feeling slips the more you try to grasp it. So my suggestion is, wherever inspiration hits, write it down immediately, wherever you are! Don’t pressure yourself into finishing a piece right away, you’ll notice I have few postings on here, but what I do put up are full of thought and may have taken a couple months to complete (such as Love’s Hostage & Star Crossed Souls)

Leave a Reply

