Swallowing Sound

“Drumming Song”
I run to the river and dive straight in

I pray that the water will drown out the din
But as the water fills my mouth
It couldn’t wash the echoes out
But as the water fills my mouth
It couldn’t wash the echoes out

I swallow the sound and it swallows me whole
Till there’s nothing left inside my soul
As empty as that beating drum
But the sound has just begun

“Swimming”
Your songs remind me of swimming,

Which I forgot when I started to sink
Dragged further away from the shore,
And deeper into the drink
Sat on the bottom of the ocean,
A stern and stubborn rock
‘Cause your songs remind me of swimming,
But somehow I forgotI was sinking, and now I’m sunk
I was drinking, and now I’m drunk
Your songs remind me of swimming,
But somehow I forgot

I tried to remember the chorus,
I can’t remember the verse
‘Cause that song that sent me swimming,
Is now the life jacket that burst

Rotting like a wreck on the ocean floor,
Sinking like a siren that can’t swim anymore
‘Cause our songs remind me of swimming,
But I can’t swim anymore

Pull me out the water, cold and blue,
I open my eyes and I see that it’s you,
So I dive straight back in the ocean
So I dive straight back in the ocean

Take a deep breath, suck the water in my chest
Take a deep breath, suck the water in my chest
Cross my fingers and hope for the best

Then all of a sudden, I heard a note,
It started in my chest and ended in my throat
Then I realized, then I realized, then I realized
I was swimming,
Yes, I was swimming
And now I’m swimming,
Yes, I am swimming

Your songs remind me of swimming
Which I forgot when I started to sink
Your songs remind me of swimming,
Which I forgot when I started to sink
Oh, your songs remind me of swimming,
Which I forgot when I started
Your songs remind me of swimming,
Which I forgot when I started to sink

“Never Let Me Go”

Looking up from underneath
Fractured moonlight on the sea
Reflections still look the same to me
As before I went under

And it’s peaceful in the deep
Cathedral where you cannot breathe
No need to pray no need to speak
Now I am under allAnd it’s breaking over me
A thousand miles down to the sea bed
Found the place to rest my head
Never let me go
Never let me go

And the arms of the ocean are carrying me
And all this devotion was rushing out of me
In the crushes of heaven for a sinner like me
But the arms of the ocean delivered me

Leave a Reply

